COA Region III celebrates COA@125 milestone anniversary

By: Engr. Edgie V. Polintan

The Commission on Audit (COA), Regional Office No. III highlighted the Commission’s 125th anniversary with a regional celebration on May 9, 2024, at the Don Honorio Ventura State University, Bacolor Pampanga.

The event, aptly themed “Ika-125 Taong Anibersaryo ng COA: Pagpupugay sa Integridad at Dedikasyon sa Paglilingkod sa Bayan,” commenced with a holy mass officiated by Rev Fr. Ariel D. Limjoco.  After which, the program proper was opened by Assistant Regional Director Chona P. Laxamana with an inspiring message, setting the tone for a day of gratitude and recognition.


COA @ 125: Rev. Fr. Ariel D. Limjoco, as he officiates the Holy Mass for the Regional Celebration of the COA 125th Anniversary

As a tribute to the 2024 retirees, a total of 17 officials and employees were recognized for their distinguished careers in COA, acknowledging their years of unwavering service to the nation. The retirees and retiring officials/ employees received the COA Region III Service Award for CY 2024 and gift tokens.  Plaques of appreciation with citation were conferred to the following individuals with their years of public service: 

Chona P. Laxamana – Regional Office
Romeo V. Mendoza – NGAS Clusters 1-4
Arsenia A. Juan – LGAS Bulacan
Josie D. Pulido – NGAS Cluster 6
Ma. Rowena R. Bucu – NGAS Cluster 7
Jenny S. Simbulan – NGAS Cluster 6
Rosa Maria M. Esteban – LGAS Bulacan
Ismael A. Gomez – NGAS Cluster 7
Felicidad N. Rivera – CGAS Cluster 5
Alnord R. Maniago – Technical Audit Division
Febe T. Abagon – LGAS Zambales
Ma. Mignon N. De Guia – LGAS Bataan
Necita P. Lagason – Technical Audit Division
Ester D. Castro – NGAS Clusters 1-4
Carlota  B. Delos Santos – NGAS Cluster 6
Virginia A. Yacat – LGAS Nueva Ecija B and Aurora Province
Danilo E. Yacat – LGAS Nueva Ecija A

As a proud moment for the Commission and this Region, the recent 2023 bar examinations passers were also duly recognized during the event. The latest bar passers and pride of Region III are: Atty. Normita S. Busangilan, Atty. Mylyn S. Cajucom-Gravador, both from LGAS C – Province of Bulacan, Atty. Tifanny A. Lucman, from the Office of the Regional Director, and Atty. Jessa Mae S. Macaraeg assigned at CGAS – Cluster 5.

Additionally, the regional players who triumphed in the just concluded COA National Sports Competition were similarly honored and given certificates of recognition for their individual/group achievements, namely:

Arjane Malit – Volleyball Women
John Carlos Guiao – Volleyball Men
Ebennezer Batul – Chess
Daphne Raiz – Chess
Paula Lucille Dulay – Basketball Women
Marites Eduardo – Bowling
Edwin Guevarra – Bowling
Mamerto Paguinto – Billiards
Atty. Mylyn Cajucom-Gravador  – Billiards

The new recruits from 2020 to 2024 brought energy and  high spirit to the dance floor with their intermission number, dancing to the popular tune “Selos,” symbolizing the fresh and dynamic spirit they bring to the Commission. Also, Ms. COA Luzon candidates from Region III showcased their talents in singing and dancing.

The afternoon was filled with excitement as exhibition volleyball and basketball matches were played, fostering camaraderie and sportsmanship among the participants.

The day also featured fun games such as “Tumpakners” participated by the COA officials of the Region and the riveting match in the  “Tug-of-War”, wherein representatives from the Regional Office bested the composite team from the Local, National, and Corporate Government Audit sectors.

Tug-of-War Final Match: Regional Office team (right side) versus the LGAS team (left side)

Raffle prizes were also drawn in between parts of the program, adding tons of excitement and surprise to the occasion.

To cap the day’s event, Regional Director Omar S. Roque delivered a heartfelt closing remarks, encapsulating a day of festivity, pride, and community spirit. The 125th COA Anniversary was not just a celebration of history but a reaffirmation of the organization’s vital role in the country’s sustainable development and good governance.